Agricultural Bioeconomy: Innovation and Foresight in the Post-COVID Era presents recent advancements in biotechnology, exploring the optimal utilization of technologies to provide rapid and impactful economic recovery and sustainable resources in a future that will bear the mark of COVID-19. Understanding that there is a necessary balance between risk and reward, this book provides a foundational hypothesis as well as operational direction for addressing the commercialization and regulatory issues in a bio-based economy where agricultural output is at the core. By presenting adaptable practices to successfully establish and progress agri-based global bioeconomies, the book features a new paradigm focused on technological foresight and response to future risks and disasters. Key considerations include assessing and managing the urban bioeconomy, climate change mitigation, biofuels and bioenergy, GMOs, and employment generation. This book provides the solid next step toward future-proofing global economies using a combination of agricultural technologies and economic goals.

Algae play an important ecological role as oxygen producers and carbon sequesters and are the food base for all aquatic life. Algae are economically important as a source of crude oil, food and feed, and pharmaceutical and industrial products. High-value and sustainable products from algae are already economically viable and can be a fundamental driver for fuel production. This book provides a detailed overview of the chemical composition of algae and shows that an integrated biorefinery approach is necessary for large-scale algae production and conversion, where multiple products are produced. This book serves as a compendium of knowledge covering the essential features of algae and their applications.

In this book, we emphasize the importance of algal biotechnology as a sustainable platform to replace the conventional fossil-based economy. With this focus, Volume 2 summarizes the up-to-date literature and knowledge and discusses the advances in algal cultivation, genetic improvement, wastewater treatment, resource recovery, commercial operation, and technoeconomic analysis of algal biotechnology.

Biodiversity and Bioeconomy: Status Quo, Challenges, and Opportuniti es comprehensively delivers the latest developments in theories of biodiversity and ecosystem functi oning and their major implicati ons for biodiversity conservati on through diversifying agriculture, forestry, and biomass producti on systems and linking these developments with sustainability of bioeconomy. This book provides basic understanding of biodiversity and bioeconomy, diff erent views of their interrelati onship, and their links with sustainable development goals. It also examines the research and practi ce of biodiversity and ecosystem functi oning in agriculture, forestry, and biomass producti on systems to achieve sustainable bioeconomy. Finally, this book examines status, challenges, and opportuniti es for biodiversity-centered bioeconomy providing a way forward.

The bioeconomy is steadily becoming more important in regional, national and European public policies. As it encompasses the transformation of agricultural, marine and organic resources into food, feed, fuels, energy and materials, the bioeconomy should become a major new industry, outlining the possibility of a post-fossil future. This book is the first attempt to depict the origins, formation and challenges of this new industry in terms of emerging institutions, innovation and economic strategies. The result of this work is that the substitution of raw materials alone is not enough to get out of the fossil economy. This book develops a political economy of the ecological transition which theorizes the transition as a new crisis of capitalism. This phase is characterized by stakeholders' attempts to develop renewed rationales and strategies to take control of the reorganization of flows of natural resources, their outcomes and their evaluation. The proposed framework considers recent results in four complementary research strands: transition studies, institutional economics, ecological economics and the evolutionary economics of innovation.

This book focuses on the new concept of bioeconomy which collects the wisdom from life science, medicine and economics. lt finds the origins from ten existing theories, and also regards as "Pan's bioeconomy". It has provided new methods for economic science research, opened up new fields for life science research, provided the right answer for China's economic miracle, filled the gap between materialism and idealism, and removed the fence between natural science and social science

This book provides the first in-depth investigation of how non-timber forest products are an integral part of local, national, and global bioeconomies. While the plants and fungi that produce non-timber forest products are essential to the sustainability of forest ecosystems, peoples' food and livelihood security and sovereignty, and thus the bioeconomy, are often absent from bioeconomic strategies. Presenting a selection of empirical cases from around the world that engage with the bioeconomy and non-timber forest products, this volume reveals how essential these products are to creating a greener and more sustainable future, how to to better integrate them into efforts to transition to and expand the bioeconomy, and how such efforts can be supported and developed. Chapters analyse how and to what degree non-timber forest products promote sustainable resource use, generate employment, and contribute to food and livelihood security and poverty alleviation. The volume develops approaches and identifies interventions and policies to support the integration of non-timber forest products into bioeconomy strategies, including in national reporting schemes to provide recommendations for future research and practical implementation.

In this edited volume, scientists from different disciplines discuss modern biotechnological processes and a knowledge-based bioeconomy. The authors base their arguments on ecological, economic, legal, social and ethical aspects. Moreover, they explore the opportunities, risks, and challenges of bioeconomic concepts and biotechnologies in many subject areas. The chapters consider land use, nature and environment, nutrition, technology and governance, energy, economy, law and regulation, as well as ethics. A special focus should be on new technologies and how they can be used, without compromising the ambitious goal of creating a more sustainable, but also fair world. To do justice to this broad array of topics, the editors frame all topics in overarching introductions and close the volume with final conclusions.

In recent years, competition has increased for determinate resources. There is an urgent need to look for sustainable, non-polluting alternate sources to meet the demands of an ever-increasing population. Sustainable processes and production while using biological material can produce food, fodder, agricultural inputs, fuel etc. with lesser inputs and reduced emission of pollutants. Agricultural waste and food waste are another concern which demands immediate interventions. The Bioeconomy can be a possible way to address these challenges. It includes sustainable production of food, fodder, fiber, fuel, agricultural inputs, and other goods while using renewable resources or different types of waste. This is beneficial to resolve diverse environmental problems such as future bioenergy production technology, societal transformations, pollution management, industrial circular economy, agricultural practices and food securities, climate management etc. Bioeconomy helps to move from a linear economy to a circular economy.

This book is a concise overall view of the status quo of the bioeconomy and its future developments - in Germany and beyond. Numerous practitioners from business, science, civil society and politics show how the bioeconomy is addressing the global problems of the future. Based on renewable raw materials and energies, the bioeconomy is developing new products and processes with the aim of shaping a more ecologically and economically sustainable future. But can it succeed? What are its opportunities and limitations? Which framework conditions influence it? The book answers these questions with a systemic view of the bioeconomy and thus enables a quick orientation in this topic. This is additionally supported by numerous graphics. The book thus invites readers to help shape the future of the bioeconomy.

Biofuels and Bioenergy: Biorefinery and Circular Bioeconomy Approaches covers the latest developments in biorefinery approaches for the production of biofuels like bioethanol, biobutanol, and biooil from lignocellulosic biomass, catalytic conversion of biooil into biofuels, biodiesel from non-edible vegetable oils, and biodiesel from microbial and macroalgal lipids. The book also covers biorefinery approaches for a circular bioeconomy and technoeconomic analysis of biofuels production.

This edited book explores the three interrelated concepts - biomass, bioenergy, and bioeconomy - from the point of view of sustainable advanced conversion processes. It elaborates on processing routes, i.e., how biomass from various sources can be converted into bioenergy like bioethanol, biodiesel, biobutanol, and biogas. Chapters are organized into three sections - "Biomass," "Bioenergy," and "Bioeconomy." The first section very much focuses on biomass-based global research trends and their utilization for future bioenergy options, very particular to microbial activities associated and their practically real-time challenges during lab to land approach. The second section deals with biomass-based applications like biodiesel, bioethanol, biobutanol, biohydrogen, and biomass cookstoves and their future perspectives and challenges. The past, present, and future trends of biomass-based research applications have been assessed and critically evaluated to make the gathered knowledge available in the simplest form for academicians and researchers. The third section focuses on biomass-based policies on implementation and governmental strategies needs a attention to make it smooth for social groups and communities too. The role and impacts of bioeconomy with biomass-based bioenergy options and applications are also targeted here. Sustainable Development Goals are addressed in this section to achieve three objectives (trio), i.e., social, economic, and ecological status, which are the need of the hour for bioeconomic security. Contributions of bioenergy to environmental security have also been addressed in this section, very particular to linkage of sustainable human development.

This book highlights recent progress on the advancements toward optimization of major biorefinery processes, including biomass pretreatment and fractionation, saccharification of sugars, and conversion of sugars and lignin into fuels and chemical precursors. The continual improvement of these processes and their integration in the format of a modern biorefinery is paving the way for a sustainable bio-economy that will displace large portions of petroleum-derived fuels and chemicals with renewable substitutes. Written by leading researchers from academia and well-renowned industry professionals, this book provides a comprehensive review of various aspects related to the recent developments in biomass conversion and biorefinery, aimed at successfully implementing the circular economy principles in various industries.

Biomass is the physical basis of the bioeconomy, the renewable segment of the circular economy, and as a CO2-neutral part of the carbon cycle, biomass is an efficient carbon sink. Demand for biomass is increasing worldwide because of its advantages in replacing fossil-based materials and fuels, which presents the challenge of reconciling this increased demand with the sustainable management of ecosystems, including forests and crops. This reference book discusses the role of biomass in the bioeconomy and focuses on the European Union and the United States, the first two regions to develop a bioeconomy strategy with an obvious effect on the bioeconomy developments in the rest of the world. Significant developments in other areas of the world are addressed.

This reference book provides advanced knowledge on sustainable biogenic waste management. It covers innovative waste processing technologies to produce biofuels, energy products, and biochemicals. To create a circular bioeconomy, it is imperative to develop processes where the waste generated through one process acts as a feedstock for the other. The book discusses the latest developments in biochemical and thermo-chemical methods of conversion and covers the potential of different kinds of biomass in more decentralized biorefineries. It describes sustainable solutions for a greener supplement to fossil resources. The book is meant for microbiologists, chemists, and biotechnologists.

This book highlights the efforts made to realize the concept of 'Circular Bioeconomy'. It has twelve (12) chapters, focussed on five (5) sections, namely Biomaterials, Environment, Energy, Pharmaceutical and Enzyme Technology. It portrays research, linking 'Circular Bioeconomy' to the United Nation's Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The concept of 'Circular Economy', including 'Circular Bioeconomy', aims to shift the current, essentially linear economic system to a more sustainable one. Accordingly, the key goal of a 'Circular Economy' is to slow, narrow and close material resource loops, built on the foundation of renewable energy and non-toxic materials. Further, a sustainable 'Bioeconomy' goes beyond simply switching fossil resources with renewable, biological resources. It requires low-carbon energy inputs, sustainable supply chains and promising disruptive conversion technologies for the sustainable transformation of renewable bioresources to high-value bio-based products, materials and fuels. Thus, a sustainable 'Circular Bioeconomy' transition will necessitate a set of consistent metrics that fit all products and industries.

This book covers the various technological developments and challenges in converting biomass residues into different forms of bioenergy. The continuous increase in the world population increased the demand for food products. The incorporation of modern technologies in agriculture increased the production of various food products, ending with excess generation of agricultural biomass residues from primary and secondary agriculture industries. Since, these biomass residues are a rich source of valuable bioproducts, they can be converted into various forms of bioenergy, such as biogas, biochar, biooil, biodiesel, and bioethanol. Besides, this approach is expected to address the gaps in biomass residue management and transformation to valuable bioproducts, and it also enhances the circular economy perspective.

This book demonstrates that a holistic approach to the bioeconomy is essential if it is to achieve its full potential in driving economic growth while simultaneously providing ecological, social and technological benefits. Definitions of the 'bioeconomy' vary but in general it incorporates the ways in which societies manage and distribute their primary or secondary biological resources for further use in everyday life (e.g. food, materials, and energy). The classical sectors related to the bioeconomy have therefore been agriculture, forestry and aquaculture, now extended to include bioenergy, biofuels, biochemicals, and other processing and service industries. There are also related new concepts such us the blue economy, the green economy, and the circular economy. This book integrates these definitions, sectoral analyses and new concepts into a fully rounded study of the bioeconomy. It is argued that the key aims in the coming years have to be the harmonization of public policies between different sectors, regulation of legislative framework for the bioeconomy, and clear communication of these issues. In particular, the book argues that a strengthening of the monitoring and evaluation of the impacts of the bioeconomy on society is an essential starting point. For this to be effective, appropriate indicators need to be established and defined for the monitoring of the effects of these resilient policies related to bioeconomy and their impact on local and regional development and quality of life.

This edited open access volume explores the role of forest bioeconomy  in addressing climate change. The authors put a particular focus on planetary boundaries and how the linear, growth-oriented economy, is coupled with climate change and environmental degradation. Biobased products and sustainable production paths have been developed, but how can they be scaled in order to lead to an economic paradigm shift? This and other questions are discussed throughout the volume. Since science indicates that climate change will continue this century, the authors also analyse how forests can be adapted to increasing forest disturbances that changing climate are expected to cause.  The authors propose climate-smart forestry as useful approach for climate mitigation and adaptation of forests to climate change, as wells as sustainable increase of economic well-being based on forestry.  The book illustrates the application of climate-smart forestry in the Czech Republic, Finland, Germany and Spain, i.e., in EU countries with quite different forests and forest sectors.

Future Proteins: Sources, Processing, Applications and the Bioeconomy presents sources of alternative proteins and the novel processing technologies associated with these new proteins, including their vast food and non-food applications and their contributions to the circular economy that ties them together. Broken into three sections, chapters focus on alternative proteins including cereals, legumes and pulses, fungi, seafoods, insects, and others before assessing novel production technologies and alternative protein applications. Through the use of content features, specifically definitions, case studies, recent developments, data, and methods, this reference assists readers in understanding how to apply current knowledge and techniques to their research.

The objective of the book is to show the complementarity and integration of food and non-food value chains for the development of a sustainable bioeconomy. One current challenge facing industry and the economy is to meet the needs of a growing world population while preserving the environment. The use of fossil energy resources for several decades has generated a decrease in reserves of these resources, together with a phenomenon of global warming due to the release of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. More and more industrial sectors, including the chemical industry, are replacing fossil carbon with renewable carbon. The bioeconomy consists in using renewable biological resources to produce food, materials, and energy. A bioeconomy based on the green chemistry and biotechnologies is developing worldwide, as a lever for reducing the ecological footprint of human activities. The book is articulated around six parts, each dedicated to a keystone of the interface betweengreen chemistry and Agro-Food Industry.

The book presents expert assessments of modern opportunities for fisheries and aquaculture in terms of economic efficiency, the state of fishery reservoirs, and the state of ichthyocenoses. The purpose of this book is to provide interested parties (government bodies, representatives of business, science and civil society) with information about modern solutions in the field of aquatic biological resources management, the state of aquatic ecosystems and fish stocks, and modern and promising technologies in aquaculture and fisheries. The book contains an assessment of the state and recommendations for the restoration of natural aquatic ecosystems, an analysis of the state of fisheries and aquaculture in inland waters, taking into account regional characteristics, the development of a methodology for assessing freshwater fish stocks, information on advanced technologies in cage aquaculture in reservoirs and lakes and in circulation systems, data on opportunities for capacity building in small-scale fisheries, and the prospects for establishing a data and information management system for fisheries and aquaculture.